Knife Law Preemption Bill Passes House Hearing, Now to Rules Committee

According to Knife Rights, Georgia Knife Preemption Bill SB432 passed out of the House Public Safety and Homeland Security Committee yesterday on a 6-2 vote. Your emails and calls make an impact!

     Successful passage of SB432 would not only ensure Georgia residents carrying a knife are treated fairly wherever they travel in Georgia, but all those traveling to the BLADE Show though towns and cities with knife laws more restrictive that Georgia’s otherwise decent knife laws, would be safe from violation.


    Now the bill moves to the House Rules Committee today or Thursday to be scheduled for a vote of the full House. You can continue to help by calling or emailing the members of the House Rules Committee and request they schedule SB432 for a vote. It is VERY IMPORTANT to remember to be very RESPECTFUL & POLITE when making your request.  Knife Rights has included a succinct sample message below. Committee members a lot of bills to consider, so all you need to do is to politely let them know that this bill has support from an involved constituency.     

  

    If you are a Georgia resident it is best that you call the committee members below. If you can’t call, at least email.     

  

    If you are a BLADE Show attendee from outside of Georgia, please email ALL of the committee members (listed below) and ask them to vote YES on SB432.  

 

    Use Email SUBJECT: Please Schedule SB432  for a Vote

 

    Suggested email:  

 

Dear Representative [insert name],

 

    As a knife owner, collector and enthusiast, I attend the BLADE Show in Atlanta which generates millions of dollars for the Georgia economy. SB432 would ensure that when I visit Georgia, the knife laws will be consistent statewide. It will also ensure that Georgia residents will know that their pocketknife is legal throughout the entire state.

 

    Please schedule SB432 for a vote as promptly as you can.

 

    Thank you for your time and consideration.

 

    [your signature] 

 

    If you call, here is what you might say to the Representative’s secretary:

 

    Hello my name is xxxxxx xxxxxxx and I am calling to ask Representative [insert name] to please schedule SB432 for a vote as soon as possible. This bill is important to me because I attend the BLADE show in Atlanta and would like to see the knife laws across Georgia be consistent. Thank you for taking my message.

 

Rich Golick:  404-656-5943 – rich.golick@house.ga.gov 

Tommy Benton: 404-656-0213 – tommy.benton@house.ga.gov 

David Casa: 404-656-0254 – david.casas@house.ga.gov 

Mickey Channell:  404-656-5103 – mickey.channell@house.ga.gov 

Sharon Cooper: 404-656-5069 – sharon.cooper@house.ga.gov 

Katie Dempsey: 404-463-2247 – katie.dempsey@house.ga.gov 

Earl Ehrhart: 404-463-2247 – earl@ehrhart.4emm.com 

Gerald Greene: 404-732-2973 – gerald.greene@house.ga.gov 

Bob Hanner: 404-656-7859 –  bob.hanner@house.ga.gov 

Bill Hembree: 404-659-9195 –  bill.hembree@house.ga.gov 

Judy Manning: 404-656-7868 – judy.manning@house.ga.gov  

Greg Morris: 404-656-5115 – greg.morris@house.ga.gov 

Butch Parrish: 404-463-2247 – butch.parrish@house.ga.gov 

Allen Peake: 404-656-5025 – allen.peake@house.ga.gov

Tom Rice: 404-656-5912 – tqgrice@aol.com 

Jay Roberts: 404-656-7153 – jay.roberts@house.ga.gov 

Ed Setzler: 404-656-0177 – ed.setzler@house.ga.gov 

Donna Sheldon: 404-656-5025 – donna.sheldon@house.ga.gov 

Barbara Sims: 404-656-0213 – barbara.sims@house.ga.gov

Lynn Smith: 404-656-7149 – lynn.smith@house.ga.gov 

Ron Stephens: 404-656-5115 – quickrxdrugs@yahoo.com 

Tom Weldon: 404-656-0152 – tom.weldon@house.ga.gov 

Wendell Willard: 404-656-5125 – wendell.willard@house.ga.gov  

  

    It is much, much better to email each member individually, but if you cannot, below are all the email addresses which you can copy and paste into your email:

  

rich.golick@house.ga.gov; james.mills@house.ga.gov; mickey.channell@house.ga.gov; tommy.benton@house.ga.gov; david.casas@house.ga.gov; sharon.cooper@house.ga.gov; katie.dempsey@house.ga.gov; earl@ehrhart.4emm.com; gerald.greene@house.ga.gov; bob.hanner@house.ga.gov; bill.hembree@house.ga.gov; judy.manning@house.ga.gov; greg.morris@house.ga.gov; butch.parrish@house.ga.gov; tqgrice@aol.com; jay.roberts@house.ga.gov; ed.setzler@house.ga.gov; donna.sheldon@house.ga.gov; lynn.smith@house.ga.gov; richard@smithforgeorgia.com; quickrxdrugs@yahoo.com;  tom.weldon@house.ga.gov; wendell.willard@house.ga.gov; barbara.sims@house.ga.gov; allen.peake@house.ga.gov   

 

    CALL or EMAIL TODAY! 

 

    For more click on www.KnifeRights.org.

 

For more on the latest knives, knife legislation, knifemaking instruction, knife trends, knifemakers, what knives to buy and where and much more, subscribe to BLADE Magazine, the World’s No. 1 Knife Publication. For subscription information click on http://www.shopblade.com/product/blade-magazine-one-year-subscripti…?r+ssfb032112#BL1SU.

 

COMMENT