Steve Shackleford Blog

Knife Bill Would Affect BLADE Show

Knife bill and BLADE Show.

Knife bill SB 49 would affect this year’s BLADE Show and needs your help by Friday. Bladesmith Butch Deveraux (in cowboy hat) waits on a customer at last year’s BLADE Show. (PointSeven image)

A Georgia knife bill that would reform law and impact the 2017 BLADE Show needs your help by Friday, March 3, or it will die.

According to Knife Rights, SB 49 would increase the legal carry length of a knife blade in the state from 5.5 to 12 inches, but before that can happen the Georgia state Rules Committee must release the bill for a vote.

A recent applicable Knife Rights email stated that “efforts to completely eliminate the carry length limit have been stymied due to the manner in which a knife is defined in Georgia law. [If enacted, SB 49 would] make life much better for knife owners in Georgia without hampering future efforts to completely eliminate the carry length limit at some future opportunity.”

That’s where you come in.

If you plan to attend the BLADE Show June 2-4 at the Cobb Galleria Centre in Atlanta or live, travel or work in Georgia, please call or e-mail the Rules Committee members now. Whether you call or email—if emailing, enter on the subject line “Please Move SB 49″—tell them you respectfully request that they please pass SB 49 out of the Rules Committee so that it may be voted on by the full Senate. Also, be sure to thank them after you make your request. As noted in a recent Knife Rights email on the subject, “Please be polite and respectful and remain on point.” Hey, as with any request, sugar always works better than sulphur, right?

Below is a list of Georgia legislators to contact concerning the matter:

Sen. Jeff Mullis (Chairman) – (404) 656-0057 – jeff.mullis@senate.ga.gov
Sen. Jack Hill (Vice Chairman) – (404) 656-5038 – jack.hill@senate.ga.gov
Sen. Bill Cowsert – (404) 463-1366 – bill.cowsert@senate.ga.gov
Sen. Steve Gooch – (404) 656-9221 – steve.gooch@senate.ga.gov
Sen. Hunter Hill – (404) 463-2518 – Hunter.Hill@senate.ga.gov
Sen. John Kennedy – (404) 656-0045 – john.kennedy@senate.ga.gov
Sen. David Shafer – (404) 656-0048 – david.shafer@senate.ga.gov
Sen. John Wilkinson – (404) 463-5257 – john.wilkinson@senate.ga.gov
Sen. Gloria S. Butler – (404) 656-0075 – gloria.butler@senate.ga.gov
Sen. Steve Henson – (404) 656-0085 – stevehenson@mindspring.com
Sen. Butch Miller – (404) 656-7454 – butch.miller@senate.ga.gov
Sen. Horacena Tate – (404) 463-8053 – horacena.tate@senate.ga.gov
Sen. Curt Thompson – (404) 463-1318 – curt@curtthompson.com

Sen. Renee Unterman – (404) 463-1368 – Renee.Unterman@senate.ga.gov

COMMENT