We Need Your Help Again! Knife Law Preemption Goes Before GA Senate

Those traveling to the BLADE Show through Georgia need Knife Law Preemption to be passed to protect them from a patchwork of inconsistent knife laws from one jurisdiction to another in the state. Here, Busse knife fans are all eyes at the Busse booth during last year’s BLADE Show.

According to Knife Rights, the Georgia House Public Safety and Homeland Security Committee has been assigned  SB432, the Knife Law Preemption bill that would repeal all local knife ordinances more restrictive than state law. The committee will consider SB432 in the coming days.

       If you are a Georgia resident it is vital that you call the committee members.    

      If you are a BLADE Show (www.bladeshow.com) attendee from outside of Georgia, then you need to email and/or call ALL of the committee members (listed below) and ask them to vote YES on SB432.  

    Once again, we need your help to get this bill passed. Your calls and emails made a big impact in the Georgia Senate when they passed the bill last week. Now, please call or email and ask the members of the committee to vote YES on SB432 when it is before them for consideration.   

    In your email or when you talk to each representative’s secretary, tell him or her that that you are a BLADE Show attendee or exhibitor and that the BLADE Show represents MILLIONS of dollars to the Georgia economy. It also represents many hundreds of JOBS in Georgia. All those hotels and restaurants we stay at and eat in during BLADE Show employ many hundreds of people and SB432 will help support the BLADE Show! You deserve to not have to worry about local knife restrictions when traveling to and attending the BLADE Show, and even a single unjustified and highly publicized arrest could adversely affect BLADE Show attendance!

    Use Email SUBJECT: Please Vote Yes on SB432. 

 

Ann Purcell – Chairman Dist 159 – ann.purcell@house.ga.gov Phone: 404-656-5139

Willie Talton – Vice Chairman Dist 145 – willie.talton@house.ga.gov Phone: 404-656-5116

Bob Hanner – Dist 148 – bob.hanner@house.ga.gov  Phone: 404-656-7859

Bill Maddox – Dist 127 – billy.maddox@house.ga.gov  Phone: 404-656-3947

Jay Neal – Dist 1 – jay.neal@house.ga.gov Phone: 404-656-5138  

Billy Horne – Dist 71 – gahouse71@yahoo.com Phone: 404-656-0287

Scott Holcomb – Dist 82 – scott.holcomb@house.ga.gov Phone: 404-656-6372  

Gloria Frazier  -Dist 123 – frazier26@comcast.net  Phone: 404-656-0265

Kevin Cooke  -Dist 18 – kevin.cooke@house.ga.gov Phone: 404-656-0325  

Darlene Taylor – Dist 173 – darlene@rose.net Phone: 404-656- 0177

Yasmin Neal  -Dist 75 – yasmin.neal@house.ga.gov Phone: 404-656-0265  

Doug Collins  -Dist 27 – doug.collins@house.ga.gov Phone: 404-656-7737

Tim Bearden  -Dist 68 – tim.bearden@house.ga.gov Phone: 404-656-0287

 

    Knife Law Preemption protects honest citizens from a patchwork of local ordinances and rules that can entrap those traveling within or through a state in possession of knives that meet state law or wherever they live in the state. A person can be charged with a violation of law when they have no intention of violating the law.

    For more information, click on www.KnifeRights.org.

For more on the latest knives, knife legislation, knifemaking instruction, knife trends, knifemakers, what knives to buy and where and much more, subscribe to BLADE Magazine, the World’s No. 1 Knife Publication. For subscription information click on http://www.shopblade.com/product/blade-magazine-one-year-subscripti…?r+ssfb031512#BL1SU.

COMMENT